New Talents


Alredo Zinola

Performer and choreographer Alfredo Zinola studied modern dance at Folkwang University of the Arts and received a degree in anthropology – intercultural communication from Turin University. His creation process is based on the collaboration with other artists. With Felipe Gonzàlez, he conceived a performance format for a younger audience; their first work was titled PRIMO (2013), a contemporary underwater dance piece taking place in a pool on stage. With performer Maxwell McCarthy, he made NERO (2015), a piece on darkness, as well as PARTY (2016), a dance experience for children. His collaboration with Ameri Ximena brought about ATO (2014), a site-specific performance in a family’s private flat, and BOMBA MIX (2015), a play on children’s stereotypes and marketing strategies.
“I am interested in the production of contemporary dance pieces for children. For this, I get inspired by society’s relation to the world children. I strive to create a stringent and uncompromising experience between audience and performer.” Alfredo Zinola

Website:
www.alfredozinola.com

  • PARTY // VIDEO
  • Bomba Mix // Video
  • Primo // VIDEO
  • NERO // Video

Özlem Alkis

Özlem Alkis works as a choreographer and performer within genre-crossing formats and presents her works in the manner of stage plays, video presentations and installations. She was born in Istanbul and currently resides in Cologne. In 2003, she participated in the study framework of the ex.e.r.ce programme at the Centre Choréographique National de Montpellier and subsequently took part in the choreographic research project essais at the Centre National de Danse Contemporaine-Angers. She is one of the founders of the Istanbul Amber Art and Technology Festival and served as its co-director until 2012. Also in 2012, she managed Special Issue European Project’s Istanbul version which supports the development of discursive approaches in the performing arts. In 2012, she enrolled in the master’s degree programme dance agency at the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln (Cologne University of Music). She received a stipend from the Berlin Academy of Arts in 2015 and has been a member of Cologne artists’ collective “ehrenfeldstudios” since.

Website:
www.ozlemalkis.com


Julio César Iglesias Ungo

Cuban-born Julio César Iglesias Ungo is a choreographer, director and dancer. He studied contemporary dance at the National Dance Academy Cuba, at the Escuela Nacional de Artes La Habana, and was a member of the national dance company. As a dancer, he worked with numerous international companies throughout Europe, Cuba and Latin America, among them Samir Akika/Unusual Symptoms, La Intrusa/Damián Muñoz Danza and, most recently, “Ultima Vez” by renowned Belgian choreographer Wim Vandekeybus. As a choreographer, among other things, he devised pieces for Renegade Theatre and the Schauspielhaus Bochum and won a commission for the Nederlands Dans Theater. His dynamic dancing style, marked by a high share of physicalness and an aesthetic steeped in experimental dance theatre, is also echoed in his choreographies.


New Talents


Alredo Zinola

Performer and choreographer Alfredo Zinola studied modern dance at Folkwang University of the Arts and received a degree in anthropology – intercultural communication from Turin University. His creation process is based on the collaboration with other artists. With Felipe Gonzàlez, he conceived a performance format for a younger audience; their first work was titled PRIMO (2013), a contemporary underwater dance piece taking place in a pool on stage. With performer Maxwell McCarthy, he made NERO (2015), a piece on darkness, as well as PARTY (2016), a dance experience for children. His collaboration with Ameri Ximena brought about ATO (2014), a site-specific performance in a family’s private flat, and BOMBA MIX (2015), a play on children’s stereotypes and marketing strategies.
“I am interested in the production of contemporary dance pieces for children. For this, I get inspired by society’s relation to the world children. I strive to create a stringent and uncompromising experience between audience and performer.” Alfredo Zinola

Website:
www.alfredozinola.com

  • PARTY // VIDEO
  • Bomba Mix // Video
  • Primo // VIDEO
  • NERO // Video

Özlem Alkis

Özlem Alkis works as a choreographer and performer within genre-crossing formats and presents her works in the manner of stage plays, video presentations and installations. She was born in Istanbul and currently resides in Cologne. In 2003, she participated in the study framework of the ex.e.r.ce programme at the Centre Choréographique National de Montpellier and subsequently took part in the choreographic research project essais at the Centre National de Danse Contemporaine-Angers. She is one of the founders of the Istanbul Amber Art and Technology Festival and served as its co-director until 2012. Also in 2012, she managed Special Issue European Project’s Istanbul version which supports the development of discursive approaches in the performing arts. In 2012, she enrolled in the master’s degree programme dance agency at the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln (Cologne University of Music). She received a stipend from the Berlin Academy of Arts in 2015 and has been a member of Cologne artists’ collective “ehrenfeldstudios” since.

Website:
www.ozlemalkis.com


Julio César Iglesias Ungo

Cuban-born Julio César Iglesias Ungo is a choreographer, director and dancer. He studied contemporary dance at the National Dance Academy Cuba, at the Escuela Nacional de Artes La Habana, and was a member of the national dance company. As a dancer, he worked with numerous international companies throughout Europe, Cuba and Latin America, among them Samir Akika/Unusual Symptoms, La Intrusa/Damián Muñoz Danza and, most recently, “Ultima Vez” by renowned Belgian choreographer Wim Vandekeybus. As a choreographer, among other things, he devised pieces for Renegade Theatre and the Schauspielhaus Bochum and won a commission for the Nederlands Dans Theater. His dynamic dancing style, marked by a high share of physicalness and an aesthetic steeped in experimental dance theatre, is also echoed in his choreographies.

Touring Produktionen

New Talents


Alredo Zinola

Der Performer und Choreograf Alfredo Zinola studierte modernen Tanz an der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen und hat einen Abschluss in Anthropologie – Interkulturelle Kommunikation der Universität Turin. Sein Schaffensprozess basiert auf der Kollaboration mit anderen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern. Mit Felipe Gonzàlez hat er ein Performance-Format für ein jüngeres Publikum entwickelt; ihr erstes Werk war PRIMO (2013), ein zeitgenössisches Unterwasser-Tanzstück, das in einem Schwimmbecken auf der Bühne stattfand. Mit dem Performer Maxwell McCarthy entstanden NERO (2015), ein Stück, über die Dunkelheit, und PARTY (2016), ein Tanzerlebnis für Kinder. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Ameri Ximena führte zu ATO (2014), einer ortsspezifischen Performance in der Privatwohnung einer Familie, und Bomba mix (2015), einem Stück über Kinder-Klischees und Marketingstrategien.

„Mein Interesse gilt der Produktion von zeitgenössischen Tanzstücken für Kinder. Inspirieren lasse ich mich dabei vom Verhältnis der Gesellschaft zur Welt der Kinder. Ich versuche, ein konsequentes und kompromissloses Erlebnis zwischen Publikum und Performer zu schaffen.“ Alfredo Zinola

Internetseite:
www.alfredozinola.com

  • PARTY // VIDEO
  • Bomba Mix // Video
  • Primo // VIDEO
  • NERO // Video

Özlem Alkis

Özlem Alkis arbeitet als Choreografin und Performerin an transdisziplinären Formaten und präsentiert ihre Arbeiten in Form von Bühnenstücken, Video – Präsentationen und Installationen. Sie wurde in Istanbul geboren und lebt derzeit in Köln. 2003 hat sie im Rahmen des ex.e.r.ce-Programms des Centre Chorégraphique National de Montpellier studiert, und nahm darauf am choreografischen Forschungsprojekt essais des Centre National de Danse Contemporaine-Angers teil. Sie ist eine der GründerInnen des Amber Art and Technology Festival in Istanbul und war hier auch Co-Direktorin bis 2012. In 2012 hat sie außerdem die Istanbuler Version des Special Issue European Project geleitet, welches die Entwicklung diskursiver Verfahrensweisen in den darstellenden Künsten fördert. An der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln belegt sie ab 2012 den Masterstudiengang Tanzvermittlung im zeitgenössischen Kontext. 2015 hat sie ein Stipendium der Berliner Akademie der Künste erhalten und ist seitdem Teil des Künstlerkollektivs „ehrenfeldstudios“ in Köln.

Internetseite:
www.ozlemalkis.com


Julio César Iglesias Ungo

Der gebürtige Kubaner ist Choreograf, Regisseur und Tänzer. Er studierte an der nationalen Tanzakademie Kuba, der Escuela Nacional de Artes La Habana, zeitgenössischen Tanz und war Mitglied der nationalen Tanzkompanie. Als Tänzer arbeitete er in zahlreichen internationalen Kompanien in Europa, Kuba und Lateinamerika, u. a. mit Samir Akika/Unusual Symptoms, La Intrusa/Damián Muñoz Danza und zuletzt bei „Ultima Vez“ des bekannten belgischen Choreografen Wim Vandekeybus. Als Choreograf hat er u.a. für das Renegade Theater und das Schauspielhaus Bochum Stücke entworfen und erhielt u.a. den Zuschlag für eine Auftragsarbeit für das Nederlands Dans Theater. Sein dynamischer Stil als Tänzer findet sich auch in seinen choreografischen Arbeiten wieder, die sich durch eine hohe Physis und eine experimentelle Tanztheater-Ästhetik auszeichnet.


New Talents


Alredo Zinola

Der Performer und Choreograf Alfredo Zinola studierte modernen Tanz an der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen und hat einen Abschluss in Anthropologie – Interkulturelle Kommunikation der Universität Turin. Sein Schaffensprozess basiert auf der Kollaboration mit anderen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern. Mit Felipe Gonzàlez hat er ein Performance-Format für ein jüngeres Publikum entwickelt; ihr erstes Werk war PRIMO (2013), ein zeitgenössisches Unterwasser-Tanzstück, das in einem Schwimmbecken auf der Bühne stattfand. Mit dem Performer Maxwell McCarthy entstanden NERO (2015), ein Stück, über die Dunkelheit, und PARTY (2016), ein Tanzerlebnis für Kinder. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Ameri Ximena führte zu ATO (2014), einer ortsspezifischen Performance in der Privatwohnung einer Familie, und Bomba mix (2015), einem Stück über Kinder-Klischees und Marketingstrategien.

„Mein Interesse gilt der Produktion von zeitgenössischen Tanzstücken für Kinder. Inspirieren lasse ich mich dabei vom Verhältnis der Gesellschaft zur Welt der Kinder. Ich versuche, ein konsequentes und kompromissloses Erlebnis zwischen Publikum und Performer zu schaffen.“ Alfredo Zinola

Internetseite:
www.alfredozinola.com

  • PARTY // VIDEO
  • Bomba Mix // Video
  • Primo // VIDEO
  • NERO // Video

Özlem Alkis

Özlem Alkis arbeitet als Choreografin und Performerin an transdisziplinären Formaten und präsentiert ihre Arbeiten in Form von Bühnenstücken, Video – Präsentationen und Installationen. Sie wurde in Istanbul geboren und lebt derzeit in Köln. 2003 hat sie im Rahmen des ex.e.r.ce-Programms des Centre Chorégraphique National de Montpellier studiert, und nahm darauf am choreografischen Forschungsprojekt essais des Centre National de Danse Contemporaine-Angers teil. Sie ist eine der GründerInnen des Amber Art and Technology Festival in Istanbul und war hier auch Co-Direktorin bis 2012. In 2012 hat sie außerdem die Istanbuler Version des Special Issue European Project geleitet, welches die Entwicklung diskursiver Verfahrensweisen in den darstellenden Künsten fördert. An der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln belegt sie ab 2012 den Masterstudiengang Tanzvermittlung im zeitgenössischen Kontext. 2015 hat sie ein Stipendium der Berliner Akademie der Künste erhalten und ist seitdem Teil des Künstlerkollektivs „ehrenfeldstudios“ in Köln.

Internetseite:
www.ozlemalkis.com


Julio César Iglesias Ungo

Der gebürtige Kubaner ist Choreograf, Regisseur und Tänzer. Er studierte an der nationalen Tanzakademie Kuba, der Escuela Nacional de Artes La Habana, zeitgenössischen Tanz und war Mitglied der nationalen Tanzkompanie. Als Tänzer arbeitete er in zahlreichen internationalen Kompanien in Europa, Kuba und Lateinamerika, u. a. mit Samir Akika/Unusual Symptoms, La Intrusa/Damián Muñoz Danza und zuletzt bei „Ultima Vez“ des bekannten belgischen Choreografen Wim Vandekeybus. Als Choreograf hat er u.a. für das Renegade Theater und das Schauspielhaus Bochum Stücke entworfen und erhielt u.a. den Zuschlag für eine Auftragsarbeit für das Nederlands Dans Theater. Sein dynamischer Stil als Tänzer findet sich auch in seinen choreografischen Arbeiten wieder, die sich durch eine hohe Physis und eine experimentelle Tanztheater-Ästhetik auszeichnet.