Jan Rohwedder


Jan Rohwedder has been working on performative research since 2009 that has been dealing with the object quality of choreography time and again. Early works have topically strongly concentrated on the power of images and iconic depictions from politics, sports and advertising. In content and form, the choreographies, performances and installations are built around acting guidelines from scores.
Since 2014, art locations have also been transformed into sound and performance installations. Visitors to these exhibitions become witnesses to performances taking place in another room mainly through listening. Spaces that have to do with objectivity and intimacy are taken into question. This dealing in sound in conjunction with musical structures and score practices often leads to collaborations with composers and sound artists.

Jan Rohwedder, choreographer, performer, artist, lives and works in Düsseldorf. Since 2010, he has been part of international performance platform Rotterdam Presenta. He studied at the Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft (Institute for Applied Theatre Sciences) in Gießen. He presented his works at festivals, among others, at HAU Berlin, PACT Zollverein Essen, ZeitraumExit Mannheim, as well as at festivals in Poland and the Kosovo. Jan Rohwedder was artist in residence at the Meetfactory Prague, participated in the ENPARTS Campus at the Venice Bienial as well as artist in residence at the Dansens Hus and at choreography/research centre Weld in Stockholm.

2016 – Listening to speak
2016 – Differenz und Wiederholung, Jan Rohwedder/ hand werk
2016 – Just Before The Night, Rotterdam Presenta/ RITA
2015 – Juste Avant La Nuit, Rotterdam Presenta/ Yves&Pony
2014 – Live-Art Installation conditio humana
2014 – A Happening, Rotterdam Presenta
2013 – Grand Slam
2010 – Dance & short fiction, J. Rohwedder /C.-F. Hahn/ L. Hermsdorf
1234
BACK

Photo: © Igor Kirin

Jan Rohwedder


Jan Rohwedder has been working on performative research since 2009 that has been dealing with the object quality of choreography time and again. Early works have topically strongly concentrated on the power of images and iconic depictions from politics, sports and advertising. In content and form, the choreographies, performances and installations are built around acting guidelines from scores.
Since 2014, art locations have also been transformed into sound and performance installations. Visitors to these exhibitions become witnesses to performances taking place in another room mainly through listening. Spaces that have to do with objectivity and intimacy are taken into question. This dealing in sound in conjunction with musical structures and score practices often leads to collaborations with composers and sound artists.

Jan Rohwedder, choreographer, performer, artist, lives and works in Düsseldorf. Since 2010, he has been part of international performance platform Rotterdam Presenta. He studied at the Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft (Institute for Applied Theatre Sciences) in Gießen. He presented his works at festivals, among others, at HAU Berlin, PACT Zollverein Essen, ZeitraumExit Mannheim, as well as at festivals in Poland and the Kosovo. Jan Rohwedder was artist in residence at the Meetfactory Prague, participated in the ENPARTS Campus at the Venice Bienial as well as artist in residence at the Dansens Hus and at choreography/research centre Weld in Stockholm.

2016 – Listening to speak
2016 – Differenz und Wiederholung, Jan Rohwedder / hand werk
2016 – Just Before The Night, Rotterdam Presenta/RITA
2015 – Juste Avant La Nuit, Rotterdam Presenta/ Yves&Pony
2014 – Live-Art Installation conditio humana
2014 – A Happening, Rotterdam Presenta
2013 – Grand Slam
2010 – Dance & short fiction, J. Rohwedder / C.-F. Hahn / L. Hermsdorf

Touring Productions


  • iDAS NRW Videoporträt // Jan Rohwedder
  • Differenz und Wiederholung // Video
  • Listening to speak // Video
  • Live Art Installation conditio humana // Video
  • Grand Slam // Video

Jan Rohwedder


Jan Rohwedder arbeitet seit 2009 an einer performativen Forschung, die sich immer wieder dem Objekthafte der Choreografie zuwendet. Frühe Arbeiten setzen sich thematisch stark mit der Macht von Bildern und ikonischen Darstellungen aus Politik, Sport und Werbung auseinander. Inhaltlich und formal sind die Choreografien, Performances und Installationen nach Handlungsanweisungen aus Partituren und Scores aufgebaut.
Seit 2014 werden auch Kunsträume zu Performance- und Sound-Installation umgestaltet. Ausstellungsbesucher*innen werden vor allem über das Hören zu Zeugen von Performances, die in einem anderen Raum stattfindet. Räume, in denen es um Objektivität und Intimität geht, werden mit Fragenkatalogen besetzt. Die Auseinandersetzungen mit Sound in Verbindung mit musikalischen Strukturen und Score-Praktiken führen häufig zu Kollaborationen mit Komponisten und Sound-Artists.

Jan Rohwedder, Choreograf, Performer, Künstler, lebt und arbeitet in Düsseldorf. Seit 2010 ist er Teil der internationalen Performance-Plattform Rotterdam Presenta. Er studierte am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen. Seine Arbeiten präsentierte er bei Festivals u.a. am HAU Berlin, PACT Zollverein Essen, ZeitraumExit Mannheim, sowie auf Festivals in Polen und im Kosovo. Jan Rohwedder war artist in residence an der Meetfactory Prag, Teilnehmer des ENPARTS Campus der Biennale von Venedig, sowie artist in residence 2014 am Dansens Hus und am choreography/research centre Weld in Stockholm.

^2016 – Listening to speak
2016 – Differenz und Wiederholung, Jan Rohwedder/ hand werk
2016 – Just Before The Night, Rotterdam Presenta/ RITA
2015 – Juste Avant La Nuit, Rotterdam Presenta/ Yves&Pony
2014 – Live-Art Installation conditio humana
2014 – A Happening, Rotterdam Presenta
2013 – Grand Slam
2010 – Dance & short fiction, J. Rohwedder /C.-F. Hahn/ L. Hermsdorf
1234
ZURÜCK ZUR ÜBERSICHT

Foto: Igor Kirin

Jan Rohwedder


Jan Rohwedder arbeitet seit 2009 an einer performativen Forschung, die sich immer wieder dem Objekthafte der Choreografie zuwendet. Frühe Arbeiten setzen sich thematisch stark mit der Macht von Bildern und ikonischen Darstellungen aus Politik, Sport und Werbung auseinander. Inhaltlich und formal sind die Choreografien, Performances und Installationen nach Handlungsanweisungen aus Partituren und Scores aufgebaut.
Seit 2014 werden auch Kunsträume zu Performance- und Sound-Installation umgestaltet. Ausstellungsbesucher*innen werden vor allem über das Hören zu Zeugen von Performances, die in einem anderen Raum stattfindet. Räume, in denen es um Objektivität und Intimität geht, werden mit Fragenkatalogen besetzt. Die Auseinandersetzungen mit Sound in Verbindung mit musikalischen Strukturen und Score-Praktiken führen häufig zu Kollaborationen mit Komponisten und Sound-Artists.

Jan Rohwedder, Choreograf, Performer, Künstler, lebt und arbeitet in Düsseldorf. Seit 2010 ist er Teil der internationalen Performance-Plattform Rotterdam Presenta. Er studierte am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen. Seine Arbeiten präsentierte er bei Festivals u.a. am HAU Berlin, PACT Zollverein Essen, ZeitraumExit Mannheim, sowie auf Festivals in Polen und im Kosovo. Jan Rohwedder war artist in residence an der Meetfactory Prag, Teilnehmer des ENPARTS Campus der Biennale von Venedig, sowie artist in residence 2014 am Dansens Hus und am choreography/research centre Weld in Stockholm.

2016 – Listening to speak
2016 – Differenz und Wiederholung, Jan Rohwedder/ hand werk
2016 – Just Before The Night, Rotterdam Presenta/ RITA
2015 – Juste Avant La Nuit, Rotterdam Presenta/ Yves&Pony
2014 – Live-Art Installation conditio humana
2014 – A Happening, Rotterdam Presenta
2013 – Grand Slam
2010 – Dance & short fiction, J. Rohwedder /C.-F. Hahn/ L. Hermsdorf

Touring Produktionen


  • Differenz und Wiederholung // Video
  • Listening to speak // Video
  • Live Art Installation conditio humana // Video
  • Grand Slam // Video
  • Dance and short fiction // Video