Felix Bürkle / starting point


Felix Bürkle’s productions oscillate between object manipulation, juggling, dance and performance. Objects, especially everyday objects, serve as points of reference and conjunction for his working process. They offer the opportunity of putting the human subject and the space in a new context. He is interested in the dislocation of perspectives, giving new dimension to seemingly familiar content. Reflection on the nature of things, on himself, spurred on by challenging the familiar, of defining it anew, is the source point for his work. Among other things, he achieves this through the collaboration with artists from different artistic backgrounds as well as through a critical examination of their different working methods and perspectives during the creative process.

Felix Bürkle was born in Freiburg in 1975 and arrived at dance via juggling. He received his education at the Lido, at the Ecole du Cirque in Toulouse and at the Folkwang Hochschule in Essen. He worked with Philippe Blanchard/ADEKWHAT in Stockholm, Carlos Orta/Coreoarte in New York, as well as with Roberto Olivan/ENCLAVE Dance Company in Brussels. A scholarship granted him studies at the Limon Institute and at the Peridance Center in New York. After working on numerous solo projects, he choreographed sprachlos which he introduced at the German Dance Platform/ Deutsche Tanzplattform in 2002. He founded the company starting point in 2007 and realized his first feature-length production beckett, beer and cigarettes at the kc nOna in Mechelen/Belgium, followed by The Wood Project at the Theater im Pumpenhaus Münster as well as at the tanzhaus NRW Düsseldorf.

2017 – self-made
2013 – you, the other
2011 – the wood project
2007 – beckett, beer and cigarettes
2005 – starting point II
2004 – starting point
2004 – regreso al amor
2001 – sprachlos
2000 – a frejlecher – einer, der glücklich ist
BACK

Photo: © Fifi Bürkle

Felix Bürkle / starting point


Felix Bürkle’s productions oscillate between object manipulation, juggling, dance and performance. Objects, especially everyday objects, serve as points of reference and conjunction for his working process. They offer the opportunity of putting the human subject and the space in a new context. He is interested in the dislocation of perspectives, giving new dimension to seemingly familiar content. Reflection on the nature of things, on himself, spurred on by challenging the familiar, of defining it anew, is the source point for his work. Among other things, he achieves this through the collaboration with artists from different artistic backgrounds as well as through a critical examination of their different working methods and perspectives during the creative process.

Felix Bürkle was born in Freiburg in 1975 and arrived at dance via juggling. He received his education at the Lido, at the Ecole du Cirque in Toulouse and at the Folkwang Hochschule in Essen. He worked with Philippe Blanchard/ADEKWHAT in Stockholm, Carlos Orta/Coreoarte in New York, as well as with Roberto Olivan/ENCLAVE Dance Company in Brussels. A scholarship granted him studies at the Limon Institute and at the Peridance Center in New York. After working on numerous solo projects, he choreographed sprachlos which he introduced at the German Dance Platform/ Deutsche Tanzplattform in 2002. He founded the company starting point in 2007 and realized his first feature-length production beckett, beer and cigarettes at the kc nOna in Mechelen/Belgium, followed by The Wood Project at the Theater im Pumpenhaus Münster as well as at the tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf.

2013 – you, the other
2011 – the wood project
2007 – beckett, beer and cigarettes
2005 – starting point II
2004 – starting point
2004 – regreso al amor
2001 – sprachlos
2000 – a frejlecher – einer, der glücklich ist

Touring Productions


  • iDAS NRW Porträt Felix Bürkle
  • SELF-MADE | A ONE MAN SHOW // VIDEO
  • YOU, THE OTHER // VIDEO
  • THE WOOD PROJECT // VIDEO

Felix Bürkle / starting point


Felix Bürkles Produktionen bewegen sich zwischen Objektmanipulation, Jonglage, Tanz und Performance. Für ihn stellen Objekte, insbesondere Alltagsgegenstände, Bezugs- und Verknüpfungspunkte im Arbeitsprozess dar. Sie bieten die Möglichkeit, das Subjekt Mensch und den Raum in einem anderen Kontext zu sehen. Sein Interesse gilt der Verschiebung von Perspektiven, die scheinbar Bekanntem neue Dimensionen verleihen. Ausgangspunkt für seine Arbeit ist die Reflexion über das Wesen der Dinge und über sich selbst – angeregt durch die Infragestellung und Neudefinition des Bekannten. Dies erreicht er unter anderem durch die Zusammenarbeit von Künstlern mit unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Hintergründen sowie in der kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit ihren verschiedenen Sichtweisen und Arbeitsmethoden während des kreativen Prozesses.

Felix Bürkle wurde 1975 in Freiburg geboren und kam durchs Jonglieren zum Tanz. Das Lido, die Ecole du Cirque in Toulouse und die Folkwang Hochschule Essen zählen zu seinen Ausbildungsstationen. Er arbeitete mit Philipe Blanchard/ADEKWHAT in Stockholm, Carlos Orta/Coreoarte New York, sowie Roberto Olivan/ENCLAVE Dance Company in Brüssel. Ein Stipendium ermöglichte ihm das Studium am Límon Institut und am Peridance Center in New York. Nach diversen Solostücken choreografierte er sprachlos, das er 2002 bei der Deutschen Tanzplattform vorstellte. 2007 gründete er die Kompanie starting point und realisierte seine erste abendfüllende Produktion beckett, beer and cigarettes im kc nOna in Mechelen/Belgien, gefolgt von The Wood Project am Theater im Pumpenhaus Münster und am tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf.

2017 – self-made
2013 – you, the other
2011 – the wood project
2007 – beckett, beer and cigarettes
2005 – starting point II
2004 – starting point
2004 – regreso al amor
2001 – sprachlos
2000 – a frejlecher – einer, der glücklich ist
Felix Bürkle
Mail: felix@felixbuerkle.net
Internetseite: www.felixbuerkle.net
ZURÜCK ZUR ÜBERSICHT

Foto: © Fifi Bürkle

Felix Bürkle / starting point


Felix Bürkles Produktionen bewegen sich zwischen Objektmanipulation, Jonglage, Tanz und Performance. Für ihn stellen Objekte, insbesondere Alltagsgegenstände, Bezugs- und Verknüpfungspunkte im Arbeitsprozess dar. Sie bieten die Möglichkeit, das Subjekt Mensch und den Raum in einem anderen Kontext zu sehen. Sein Interesse gilt der Verschiebung von Perspektiven, die scheinbar Bekanntem neue Dimensionen verleihen. Ausgangspunkt für seine Arbeit ist die Reflexion über das Wesen der Dinge und über sich selbst – angeregt durch die Infragestellung und Neudefinition des Bekannten. Dies erreicht er unter anderem durch die Zusammenarbeit von Künstlern mit unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Hintergründen sowie in der kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit ihren verschiedenen Sichtweisen und Arbeitsmethoden während des kreativen Prozesses.

Felix Bürkle wurde 1975 in Freiburg geboren und kam durchs Jonglieren zum Tanz. Das Lido, die Ecole du Cirque in Toulouse und die Folkwang Hochschule Essen zählen zu seinen Ausbildungsstationen. Er arbeitete mit Philipe Blanchard/ADEKWHAT in Stockholm, Carlos Orta/Coreoarte New York, sowie Roberto Olivan/ENCLAVE Dance Company in Brüssel. Ein Stipendium ermöglichte ihm das Studium am Límon Institut und am Peridance Center in New York. Nach diversen Solostücken choreografierte er sprachlos, das er 2002 bei der Deutschen Tanzplattform vorstellte. 2007 gründete er die Kompanie starting point und realisierte seine erste abendfüllende Produktion beckett, beer and cigarettes im kc nOna in Mechelen/Belgien, gefolgt von The Wood Project am Theater im Pumpenhaus Münster und am tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf.

2013 – you, the other
2011 – the wood project
2007 – beckett, beer and cigarettes
2005 – starting point II
2004 – starting point
2004 – regreso al amor
2001 – sprachlos
2000 – a frejlecher – einer, der glücklich ist
Felix Bürkle
Mail: felix@felixbuerkle.net
Internetseite: www.felixbuerkle.net

Touring Produktionen


  • SELF-MADE | A ONE MAN SHOW // VIDEO
  • YOU, THE OTHER // VIDEO
  • THE WOOD PROJECT // VIDEO