DIN A 13 tanzcompany


DIN A 13 tanzcompany is one of the few dance ensembles comprised of dancers with different bodily capabilities. By means of continual artistical and conceptual development of their productions, DIN A 13 managed to become one of the globally leading mixed-abled dance ensembles.

The artistic approach taken by the company is marked by the exploration and visualization of the quality of movement inherent in “differing bodies“ whose diversity forms the basis for the choreographical work. Gerda König challenges viewing habits and normative ideals found in contemporary dance, enriching it in the process through new impulses. Assumed frontiers and evaluations between special bodily dispositions and a dancer’s peak performance become dissolved in choreographical pictures, posing questions, inviting one to enter into an artistical dialogue. She perpetually searches for contrast and provocation in her choreographical pictures, mirroring the human tension between inner and social conflicts. The unexpectedness of another body becomes the aesthetic experience whose expressiveness shows new benchmarks of quality.
Since 2005, in cooperation with the Goethe Institute, coproductions with regional and international artists in Ethiopia, South Africa, Brazil, Kenya, Ghana, and Senegal have been realized.

Gerda König studied psychology at the University of Cologne. She started to deal with dance intensely in 1991, working with the Ensemble Mobiaki, before founding the DIN A 13 tanzcompany in 1995. Right from the start, her choreographical development has been deeply affected by the vision to use the quality of movement inherent in “differing bodies“ in order to create new aesthetic approaches towards a language of contemporary dance. In 2005, she initiated “Dance meets differences“ a project aimed at the exchange between cultures, thereby supporting new mixed-abled companies. Her approach to choreographical research and her artistic works are marked by a continuous, artistical dealing with cultural realities, traditions, politically and socially determined conditions. This lends an unmistakable handwriting to her choreographies. Gerda König lives in Cologne.

2017 – BodyRealities cityCodes
2016 – BodyRealities
2016 – upDATING YOU
2015 – PERFECTLY UNPERFECT
2014 – Tranz-/-flexion
2013 – HOMEZONE
2012 – CONTRASENTIDO
2011 – changeABLE cohesion
2011 – Terrains DéCouverts
2010 – in_FOCUS_out
2009 – Patterns beyond Traces
2009 – 15 minutes to 40
2008 – continuending
2008 – White lines, black field, colourful games
2008 – Wheel me up
2007 – Sex I.D.
2006 – Via sem Regra
2005 – CounterCircles
2005 – Win in style
2004 – CHAOS – body without doors
2004 – Not yet …
2003 – skinbetween
2002 – Gendagenia
2002 – TimeLess
2001 – Corpobscuro
2001 – DAYmares & nightDREAMS
2000 – Colours of longing
1999 – The smiling carcass
1999 – Symbionik
1999 – Sittenbilder
1998 – coded creation
1997 – Body distance between the minds
1996 – Gip´s ab
DIN A 13 tanzcompany
Gerda König
Mail: g.koenig@din-a13.de

Anika Bendel
Management
Mail: anika.bendel@din-a13.de

Anastasia Olfert
Production
Mail: anastasia.olfert@din-a13.de

Website: www.din-a13.de

BACK

Photo: @ Elise Fitte-Duval

DIN A 13 tanzcompany


DIN A 13 tanzcompany is one of the few dance ensembles comprised of dancers with different bodily capabilities. By means of continual artistical and conceptual development of their productions, DIN A 13 managed to become one of the globally leading mixed-abled dance ensembles.

The artistic approach taken by the company is marked by the exploration and visualization of the quality of movement inherent in “differing bodies“ whose diversity forms the basis for the choreographical work. Gerda König challenges viewing habits and normative ideals found in contemporary dance, enriching it in the process through new impulses. Assumed frontiers and evaluations between special bodily dispositions and a dancer’s peak performance become dissolved in choreographical pictures, posing questions, inviting one to enter into an artistical dialogue. She perpetually searches for contrast and provocation in her choreographical pictures, mirroring the human tension between inner and social conflicts. The unexpectedness of another body becomes the aesthetic experience whose expressiveness shows new benchmarks of quality.
Since 2005, in cooperation with the Goethe Institute, coproductions with regional and international artists in Ethiopia, South Africa, Brazil, Kenya, Ghana, and Senegal have been realized.

Gerda König studied psychology at the University of Cologne. She started to deal with dance intensely in 1991, working with the Ensemble Mobiaki, before founding the DIN A 13 tanzcompany in 1995. Right from the start, her choreographical development has been deeply affected by the vision to use the quality of movement inherent in “differing bodies“ in order to create new aesthetic approaches towards a language of contemporary dance. In 2005, she initiated “Dance meets differences“ a project aimed at the exchange between cultures, thereby supporting new mixed-abled companies. Her approach to choreographical research and her artistic works are marked by a continuous, artistical dealing with cultural realities, traditions, politically and socially determined conditions. This lends an unmistakable handwriting to her choreographies. Gerda König lives in Cologne.

2016 – BodyRealities
2016 – upDATING YOU
2015 – PERFECTLY UNPERFECT
2014 – Tranz-/-flexion
2013 – HOMEZONE
2012 – CONTRASENTIDO
2011 – changeABLE cohesion
2011 – Terrains DéCouverts
2010 – in_FOCUS_out
2009 – Patterns beyond Traces
2009 – 15 minutes to 40
2008 – continuending
2008 – White lines, black field, colourful games
2008 – Wheel me up
2007 – Sex I.D.
2006 – Via sem Regra
2005 – CounterCircles
2005 – Win in style
2004 – CHAOS – body without doors
2004 – Not yet …
2003 – skinbetween
2002 – Gendagenia
2002 – TimeLess
2001 – Corpobscuro
2001 – DAYmares & nightDREAMS
2000 – Colours of longing
1999 – The smiling carcass
1999 – Symbionik
1999 – Sittenbilder
1998 – coded creation
1997 – Body distance between the minds
1996 – Gip´s ab
DIN A 13 tanzcompany
Gerda König
Mail: g.koenig@din-a13.de

Anika Bendel
Management
Mail: anika.bendel@din-a13.de

Website: www.din-a13.de

Touring Productions


  • techNOlimits // VIDEO
  • BODYREALITIES CITYCODES // VIDEO
  • BODYREALITIES // VIDEO
  • upDATING YOU // VIDEO
  • UMBRUCH-TRILOGIE // VIDEO

DIN A 13 tanzcompany


DIN A 13 tanzcompany ist international eines der wenigen Tanzensembles, deren Mitglieder sich aus Tänzern und Tänzerinnen mit unterschiedlichen Körperlichkeiten zusammensetzt. Durch die kontinuierliche künstlerische und konzeptuelle Entwicklung ihrer Produktionen gehört DIN A 13 zu einem der führenden mixed-abled Tanzensembles weltweit.
Die Erforschung und Sichtbarmachung der Bewegungsqualität „anderer Körper“, deren Diversität die Grundlage für die choreografische Arbeit bildet, markierte den künstlerischen Ansatz der Kompanie. Gerda König hinterfragt Sehgewohnheiten und Normideale des zeitgenössischen Tanzes und bereichert ihn durch neue Impulse. Vermutete Grenzen und Wertungen zwischen körperlichen Besonderheiten und tänzerischer Höchstleistung werden in choreografischen Bildern aufgelöst, die provozierend Fragen stellen und zu einem künstlerischen Dialog auffordern. Stets sucht sie in ihren Choreografien nach Kontrasten und Provokationen, die den Mensch im Spannungsfeld seiner inneren wie gesellschaftlichen Konflikte spiegeln. Das Unerwartete eines anderen Körpers wird zur ästhetischen Erfahrung, deren Ausdruck neue Qualitätsmaßstäbe setzt.
Seit 2005 entstanden in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe Institut Koproduktionen mit regionalen und internationalen Künstlern in Äthiopien, Südafrika, Brasilien, Kenia, Ghana und dem Senegal.

Gerda König studierte Psychologie an der Universität Köln. 1991 begann sie sich intensiv mit dem Tanz auseinanderzusetzen und arbeitete im Ensemble Mobiaki mit, bevor sie 1995 die DIN A 13 tanzcompany gründete. Von Beginn an ist ihr choreografischer Werdegang geprägt von der Vision die Bewegungsqualität „anderer Körper“ zu nutzten, um neue ästhetische Ansätze einer zeitgenössischen Tanzsprache zu entwickeln. 2005 initiiert sie „Dance meets differences“, ein Projekt dass den Austausch zwischen den Kulturen zum Ziel hat und neue mixed-abled Kompanien unterstützt. Ihr choreografischer Forschungsansatz und ihr künstlerisches Schaffen sind geprägt von der kontinuierlichen künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit kulturellen Realitäten, Traditionen, politisch bedingten und sozial geprägten Gegebenheiten. Dies verleiht ihren Choreografien eine unverkennbare Handschrift. Gerda König lebt in Köln.

2017 – BodyRealities– cityCodes
2016 – BodyRealities
2016 – upDATING YOU
2015 – PERFECTLY UNPERFECT
2014 – Tranz-/-flexion
2013 – HOMEZONE
2012 – CONTRASENTIDO
2011 – changeABLE cohesion
2011 – Terrains DéCouverts
2010 – in_FOCUS_out
2009 – Patterns beyond Traces
2009 – 15 minutes to 40
2008 – continuending
2008 – White lines, black field, colourful games
2008 – Wheel me up
2007 – Sex I.D.
2006 – Via sem Regra
2005 – CounterCircles
2005 – Win in style
2004 – CHAOS – body without doors
2004 – Not yet …
2003 – skinbetween
2002 – Gendagenia
2002 – TimeLess
2001 – Corpobscuro
2001 – DAYmares & nightDREAMS
2000 – Colours of longing
1999 – The smiling carcass
1999 – Symbionik
1999 – Sittenbilder
1998 – coded creation
1997 – Body distance between the minds
1996 – Gip´s ab
Gerda König
Künstlerische Leitung
Mail: g.koenig@din-a13.de

Anika Bendel
Management / Distribution
Mail: anika.bendel@din-a13.de

Anastasia Olfert
Produktionsleitung
Mail: anastasia.olfert@din-a13.de

Internetseite: www.din-a13.de

ZURÜCK ZUR ÜBERSICHT

Foto: @ Elise Fitte-Duval

DIN A 13 tanzcompany


DIN A 13 tanzcompany ist international eines der wenigen Tanzensembles, deren Mitglieder sich aus Tänzern und Tänzerinnen mit unterschiedlichen Körperlichkeiten zusammensetzt. Durch die kontinuierliche künstlerische und konzeptuelle Entwicklung ihrer Produktionen gehört DIN A 13 zu einem der führenden mixed-abled Tanzensembles weltweit.
Die Erforschung und Sichtbarmachung der Bewegungsqualität „anderer Körper“, deren Diversität die Grundlage für die choreografische Arbeit bildet, markierte den künstlerischen Ansatz der Kompanie. Gerda König hinterfragt Sehgewohnheiten und Normideale des zeitgenössischen Tanzes und bereichert ihn durch neue Impulse. Vermutete Grenzen und Wertungen zwischen körperlichen Besonderheiten und tänzerischer Höchstleistung werden in choreografischen Bildern aufgelöst, die provozierend Fragen stellen und zu einem künstlerischen Dialog auffordern. Stets sucht sie in ihren Choreografien nach Kontrasten und Provokationen, die den Mensch im Spannungsfeld seiner inneren wie gesellschaftlichen Konflikte spiegeln. Das Unerwartete eines anderen Körpers wird zur ästhetischen Erfahrung, deren Ausdruck neue Qualitätsmaßstäbe setzt.
Seit 2005 entstanden in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe Institut Koproduktionen mit regionalen und internationalen Künstlern in Äthiopien, Südafrika, Brasilien, Kenia, Ghana und dem Senegal.

Gerda König studierte Psychologie an der Universität Köln. 1991 begann sie sich intensiv mit dem Tanz auseinanderzusetzen und arbeitete im Ensemble Mobiaki mit, bevor sie 1995 die DIN A 13 tanzcompany gründete. Von Beginn an ist ihr choreografischer Werdegang geprägt von der Vision die Bewegungsqualität „anderer Körper“ zu nutzten, um neue ästhetische Ansätze einer zeitgenössischen Tanzsprache zu entwickeln. 2005 initiiert sie „Dance meets differences“, ein Projekt dass den Austausch zwischen den Kulturen zum Ziel hat und neue mixed-abled Kompanien unterstützt. Ihr choreografischer Forschungsansatz und ihr künstlerisches Schaffen sind geprägt von der kontinuierlichen künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit kulturellen Realitäten, Traditionen, politisch bedingten und sozial geprägten Gegebenheiten. Dies verleiht ihren Choreografien eine unverkennbare Handschrift.

2016 – BodyRealities
2016 – upDATING YOU
2015 – PERFECTLY UNPERFECT
2014 – Tranz-/-flexion
2013 – HOMEZONE
2012 – CONTRASENTIDO
2011 – changeABLE cohesion
2011 – Terrains DéCouverts
2010 – in_FOCUS_out
2009 – Patterns beyond Traces
2009 – 15 minutes to 40
2008 – continuending
2008 – White lines, black field, colourful games
2008 – Wheel me up
2007 – Sex I.D.
2006 – Via sem Regra
2005 – CounterCircles
2005 – Win in style
2004 – CHAOS – body without doors
2004 – Not yet …
2003 – skinbetween
2002 – Gendagenia
2002 – TimeLess
2001 – Corpobscuro
2001 – DAYmares & nightDREAMS
2000 – Colours of longing
1999 – The smiling carcass
1999 – Symbionik
1999 – Sittenbilder
1998 – coded creation
1997 – Body distance between the minds
1996 – Gip´s ab
Gerda König
Mail: g.koenig@din-a13.de

Anika Bendel
Produktionsleitung
Mail: anika.bendel@din-a13.de

Internetseite: www.din-a13.de

Touring Produktionen


  • techNOlimits // VIDEO
  • BODYREALITIES CITYCODES // VIDEO
  • BODYREALITIES // VIDEO
  • upDATING YOU // VIDEO
  • UMBRUCH-TRILOGIE // VIDEO