Cocoondance Company


CocoonDance was founded by dramaturge Rainald Endraß and choreographer Rafaële Giovanola in 2000. Baltimore-born Swiss native Giovanola first worked as a soloist in Turin, following her studies with Marika Besobrasova in Monte Carlo, before landing an eight-year engagement at the Ballett Frankfurt with William Forsythe. Afterwards, she worked with Pavel Mikuláštiks Choreographic Theatre, which landed her in Bonn at the end of her stint.

Since 2004, the Company has been playing and directing the dance section at the freelance Theater im Ballsaal, a venue that receives institutional funding from the Bundesstadt Bonn (Federal City of Bonn), a venue that hosts producing artists and acts as an intersection and a sphere of action for a diverse range of contemporary dance. Thus, the work CocoonDance does is marked by an enormous continuity in artistic development and the deployment of a diverse, international and inter-disciplinarian network. The productions that have been staged since 2000, round about 40 pieces, are currently touring five continents. In 2018, the company was selected to participate at the TANZPLATTFORM DEUTSCHLAND, the most important biannual forum for contemporary dance in Germany, with their production “Momentum”.

At the core of the drive to make further artistic leaps lies work in improvisation and within the group. Collective decision-making and an enormously continuous team work are the foundations of the works’ density. The questions, developed in body and movement research, are not looking for answers, they rather open spaces for re-evaluation and movement. The Bonn-based ensemble has been close to its audience in the quest for the yet un-thought body during the last years. This brought about more than just originality in the dance pieces: “Experiments in the perception of the body, of the other, of oneself.” Pieces that grant the audience a new perspective on bodies and on movement. Bodies that transformed into something new, something alien, and movements that permeated not only the dancers’ bodies but also those of the audience.

Rafaële Giovanola Rainald Endraß Mail: mail@cocoondance.de Mechtild Telmann Management Mail: kultur@mechtild-tellmann.de Website: www.cocoondance.de
BACK

Photo: © Jörg Letz

Touring Productions


  • iDAS NRW Videoporträt CocoonDance
  • Dream City // VIDEO
  • VIS MOTRIX // VIDEO
  • GHOST TRIO B - corps multiples // VIDEO
  • GHOST TRIO A - corps furtifs // VIDEO

Cocoondance Company


CocoonDance wurde 2000 von dem Dramaturgen Rainald Endraß und der Choreografin Rafaële Giovanola gegründet. Die in Baltimore geborene Schweizerin war nach einem Studium mit Marika Besobrasova in Monte Carlo zunächst Solistin in Turin, bevor sie von William Forsythe für acht Jahre an das Ballett Frankfurt engagiert wurde. Anschließend arbeitete sie mit Pavel Mikuláštiks Choreografischem Theater, zuletzt in Bonn.

Seit 2004 bespielt und leitet die Company die Sparte Tanz in dem von der Bundesstadt Bonn institutionell geförderten freien Theater im Ballsaal, einem Haus der produzierenden Künstler, Schnittstelle und Wirkungsbereich verschiedenster Felder des zeitgenössischen Tanzes. So zeichnet sich die Arbeit von CocoonDance durch eine enorme Kontinuität in der künstlerischen Entwicklung und der Ausformung eines vielfältigen, internationalen wie interdisziplinären Netzwerks aus. Die seit 2000 entstandenen rund vierzig abendfüllenden Produktionen von CocoonDance touren auf mittlerweile fünf Kontinenten. 2018 wurde die Compagnie mit „Momentum“ zur TANZPLATTFORM IN DEUTSCHLAND, dem wichtigsten biennalen Forum für Zeitgenössischen Tanz in Deutschland ausgewählt.

Motor der künstlerischen Entwicklung ist wesentlich die Improvisations- und Ensemblearbeit. Kollektive Entscheidungsprozesse und eine enorm kontinuierliche Teamarbeit begründen die ästhetische Dichte der Arbeiten. Die in der Körper- und Bewegungsrecherche entwickelten Fragen suchen nicht nach Antworten, sondern eröffnen stattdessen Denk- und Bewegungsräume. Immer ganz nah mit seinem Publikum war das Bonner Ensemble in den letzten Jahren auf der Suche nach dem noch ungedachten Körper. Entstanden sind dabei mehr als bloß originelle Tanzstücke: „Experimente der Körper-, Fremd- und Selbstwahrnehmung“. Stücke, die den Zuschauern einen neuen Blick auf Körper und auf Bewegungen bescheren. Körper, die sich zu etwas Neuem, Fremdartigen transformierten und Bewegungen, die nicht nur die Körper der Tänzer, sondern auch die der Zuschauer durchzogen.

Rafaële Giovanola
Rainald Endraß
Mail: mail@cocoondance.de

Mechtild Telmann
Management
Mail: kultur@mechtild-tellmann.de

Internetseite: www.cocoondance.de

ZURÜCK ZUR ÜBERSICHT

Foto: © Jörg Letz

Touring Produktionen


  • iDAS NRW Videoporträt CocoonDance
  • Dream City // VIDEO
  • VIS MOTRIX // VIDEO
  • GHOST TRIO B - corps multiples // VIDEO
  • GHOST TRIO A - corps furtifs // VIDEO